October AYearAThon

I took part in the AYearAThon for the first time last month and posted about it here. I wasn’t sure if I was going to do it again as I didn’t know if I’d be able to stick to the themes but was tweeted by the AYearAThon twitter account after my last post saying that themes are optional so here I am again! I did try to fit my reading into the theme (mental health), just loosely, and then hardly got around to reading anything anyway as I was busy with the start of the university year.

I was still reading George Orwell’s 1984 when the readathon started and so first off I finished that which was okay, but not great. I was disappointed with it really; it just wasn’t my sort of thing, it was just too depressing, I didn’t connect with the main character on any level, and just never got gripped into the story. It picked up slightly nearer the ending but ultimately just felt like it was a bit of a letdown and lacked any sort of moral or message that interested me.

Finally finished reading 1984! 😃📚

A post shared by @emlinian on

I then had to read the first chapter of Regeneration Through Violence by Richard Slotkin for one of my classes which took me a lot longer than I wanted it to because I dislike reading theory and am just really slow at getting through that sort of thing. It was kind of interesting; talking about the creation and continuation of myths, but as it is still the start of term I am unsure how it will be fitting into my course and be useful.

It was only then that I started on my mental health themed books, and didn’t even get close to finishing them. I just read 2 chapters of my anxiety book, and 2 of The Ego and the Id by Sigmund Freud, which is for my dissertation and which was better than I thought, I felt like it was a little clearer than his writing normally is, although I’m not very far in and I may just be getting used to the way he writes rather than him getting clearer.

So I didn’t really get far in this readathon but felt like it was still worth posting about because I still got more done than I would have otherwise just because I was so busy and not really interested in what I was reading.

Here is the link to the AYearAThon Goodreads group.

And then my next post will probably be a wrap up for one of my next readathons this month; Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon which you can find here, or the Duodecathon which is here. Subscribe if you want to see my posts on those, and comment below if you’ve read 1984 and if you agree or disagree with me 🙂

Leave a Reply

