We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

I first heard about this book when it was shown on the Hot Key Books Youtube channel (https://www.youtube.com/user/HotKeyBooks) and then saw it on a lot of different booktube channels after that. Everyone seemed to be giving it great reviews, and it sounded interesting, but I already had a load of books that I wanted to read and so didn’t get around to it until recently when I bought the Zoella book bundle, and then read it for the September AYearAThon (which I posted about here: https://emlinian.wordpress.com/2016/09/17/ayearathon-september-2016/).

In addition to just having other books to read, I also didn’t really like the sound of the way that it was written as although it was said to be written beautifully, it was also described a lot as ‘poetic’ which I took to mean that it was going to be written well, but also, hard to read, like lots of the ‘poetic’ books that I read for uni. However, I was completely wrong on this, as the writing style was really easy, captivating, and had an amazing flow to it.

Another thing that caught me by surprise was the ‘lying’ aspect to the novel; I found that wasn’t really ‘lies’ at first but a lot of metaphors, and then it was more like everyone was lying to Cadence rather than her, as the narrator, lying to us, which was what I expected. The novel actually follows Cadence on her first trip back to her family’s summer island after she has lost her memory surrounding the summer 2 years previously, and so while I was under the impression that you’d always be trying to figure out what Cadence was lying to you about, it was more like going on a journey with her to find out how her own memory is lying to her. Although, ‘Liars’ is also just a name for her group of friends which I felt was never actually explained.

I absolutely loved Cadence though! I felt like she was sweet and just really relatable in some aspects too. Something that I felt really stood out with her as a character and made her so relatable and tragic was the repetition of the idea that she feels like she has to be normal and has to pull herself together constantly. It was aspects such as this that I think just made the whole novel have this feel of being so very realistic and sad, yet there is also a theme of moving on from tragedy, and from yourself in a sense, and so in this aspect I actually found the novel quite uplifting as well as being so sad.

I don’t want to really say much more in case of spoilers but I just felt like this novel was so amazing, I loved so much about it, and it definitely a new favourite as one of the best books that I have ever read. I think most people would like this book, but especially if you’ve read and enjoyed Sarah Dessen’s Just Listen which is another of my favourites and shares some themes with this one.

Comment below if you’ve also read We Were Liars, what you thought of it, and if it was what you expected. My next post will probably be on The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater which I also loved so subscribe if you want to see that too 🙂

4 thoughts on “We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

  1. Pingback: September Book Wrap Up & October TBR – Emma's Blog

Leave a Reply

