July & August Book Wrap Up & September TBR

Book Haul

In July I received copies of Cruel Broken Heart by Emma Haughton and These Shallow Graves from a friend, and then went to Yalc (The Young Adult Literature Convention in London) where I bought:

  • How Not to Disappear by Clare Furniss
  • Lies by Michael Grant (pre-signed)
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (pre-signed)
  • The Manifesto on How to be Interesting by Holly Bourne (which I got signed)
  • The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood (which I got signed)
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (which I got signed)

Here are a couple photos from Yalc, one of a wall of books, and one from a panel that I went to:

And here are photos of all the books and other things that I got from there:

In August I bought Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, and got Beyond the Pleasure Principle by Sigmund Freud as an ebook on the Kindle app.

Reading Wrap Up

In July I read:

  • Binge by Tyler Oakley
  • Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen
  • The Loneliness of Distant Beings by Kate Ling.

In August I read:

  • Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany
  • We Are All Made of Molecules by Susin Nielsen
  • The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Here’s a photo of all those books (other than Binge because I read that as an audiobook):

img_20160905_220213051

I really loved all of the books that I read over these 2 months which was amazing, and I don’t think I can really pick a favourite but if I had to maybe Fangirl, just because it was the perfect time to read it around going to Yalc, as it was the book I read on the train there and back, and just fitted so well into how excited I was about it all.

September TBR

I’m going back to uni this September so I need to get through quite a lot of uni books but there’s also some readathons I want to take part in and non-uni books that I want to read.

There’s a YearAThon for books under 200 pages that I think I’m going to use to get through the samplers that I got from Yalc, a small poetry book, We Were Liars by E.Lockhart, and to finish Beyond the Pleasure Principle by Freud (a uni book). Then there’s a Duodecathon at the end of the month where I’d like to do the 1200 pages challenge and the favourite colour on a cover challenge but I’m not sure what books this will be with. One that I want to re-read at some point because I’m using it for my dissertation at uni is Scarlet by Marissa Meyer.

I’ll do wrap up posts for both of those readathons and maybe a couple review posts soon, so see you there 🙂 Comment below if you’ve read any of these books or about what you read in these months!

2 thoughts on “July & August Book Wrap Up & September TBR

  1. Pingback: AYearAThon – September 2016 – Emma's Blog

  2. Pingback: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater – Emma's Blog

Leave a Reply

